

MEDIA RELEASE

Date: 26 January 2023

Location: Pretoria, South Africa

Embargo: Nil

CABINET APPROVES CBE'S SIXTH TERM COUNCIL



Ms Holovisa Amelia Mtshali (seated, centre) appointed Chairperson of the CBE's sixth term Council at her first engagement with fellow Council members and the CBE Executive.

The Council for the Built Environment (CBE) is pleased to announce that Minister of Public Works and Infrastructure, the Honourable Ms Patricia de Lille, in accordance with section 6 of the Council for the Built Environment Act (43 of 2000), has appointed its sixth term Council as approved by Cabinet for a four-year term with effect from 01 December 2022 to 30 November 2026. The Council is the governing body and accounting authority in terms of the Public Finance Management Act (PFMA). The Council's role is to guide the CBE by fulfilling responsibilities related to strategic direction, policy approval, oversight, and accountability.

This ensures that the CBE exercises good corporate governance, an ethical culture, good performance, effective management, and legitimacy, enabling the organisation to engage with its stakeholders impactfully. A significant step forward for the sector is that three other professional bodies in the built environment have now been incorporated into the Council; the new additions are geomatics, town planning and environmental assessment.

The sixth term Council was inaugurated on 24 January 2023 at the Maslow Hotel at Times Square in Pretoria. The CBE family is excited to welcome the new Council and looks forward to delivering the CBE mandate under the leadership of Chairperson, Ms Holovisa Amelia Mtshali.

Paying tribute to the outgoing fifth term Council CBE CEO Mr Msizi Myeza said, "I would like to express our gratitude and sincere thanks to the previous CBE Council led by Dr Sitsabo Dlamini which ended its term on 31 October 2022. We accomplished a lot under their leadership and made significant progress towards our goal of "mobilising transformation in the sector and implementing the CBE's mandate towards building a better South Africa for all."

The sixth term CBE Council membership, and their representing bodies, comprises the following persons:

- 1. Ms Holovisa Amelia Mtshali (Chairperson) [Engineering Council of South Africa [ECSA]
- 2. Ms Ditaba Maraka (**Deputy Chairperson**) [Public]
- 3. Ms Vangile Petronella Nene (Department of Public Works & Infrastructure [DPWI]
- 4. Mr Anele Mahlawe (Department)
- 5. Ms Elizabeth Faith Nyaka (Department)
- 6. Ms Tinyiko Laurel Palesa Shipalana (Department)
- 7. Ms Mandisa Princess Pepeta-Daki (South African Council for the Architectural Profession [SACAP]
- 8. Mr Thembinkosi Cedric Madikane (Engineering Council of South Africa [ECSA]
- 9. Mr Molefi Kubuzie (South African Council for the Property Valuers Profession [SACPVP]
- 10. Mr Christopher Kobla Gavor (South African Council for the Property valuers Profession [SACPVP]
- 11. Mr Ngwako Edward Hutamo (South African Council for the Landscape Architecture Profession [SACLAP]
- 12. Mr Chris Stenberg (South African Council for the Landscape Architectural Profession [SACLAP]

- 13. Mr Ashley Latchu (Public)
- 14. Ms Sinehlanhla Mthembu (Public)
- 15. Ms Salome Mabilane (Public)
- 16. Ms Snowy Makhudu (Environmental Assessment Practitioners Association of South Africa [EAPASA]
- 17. Dr Khangwelo Desmond Musetsho (Environmental Assessment Practitioners Association of South Africa [EAPASA]
- 18. Ms Modiehi Elisa Molebatsi (South African Geomatics Council [SAGC]
- 19. Mr Craig Silva [SAGC]
- 20. Mr Tshepo Albia Monakedi (South African Council for Planners [SACPLAN]
- 21. Ms Seemole Angela Mohopo (South African Council for Planners [SACPLAN]

ENDS

About the CBE:

The Council for the Built Environment (CBE) is a Schedule 3A Public Entity that reports to the National Department of Public Works and Infrastructure. It is a regulatory body established under the Council for the Built Environment Act 43 of 2000 (the CBE Act) that coordinates the following six Councils for the Built Environment Professions - Architecture, Landscape Architecture, Engineering, Property Valuation, Project and Construction Management, and Quantity Surveying – and through memoranda of understanding these include Town and Regional Planning, Land Surveying, and Environmental Assessment Practitioners.

The CBE was established for the purpose of instilling good conduct within the Built Environment Professions, mobilising transformation in the Built Environment Professions, protecting the interest of the public and advising the South African Government on Built Environment related issues.

Issued by:

Mr Msizi Myeza
Chief Executive Officer
Council for the Built Environment

Tel: 012 3463985 www.cbe.org.za

Enquiries:

1. Ms. Sinah Ndala

Communications Associate

Mobile: +27 78 423 1942 Email: sinah@cbe.org.za

2. Ms Lizelle van Schalkwyk

Strategic Coordinator

Mobile: +27 83 388 8595

Email: <u>Lizelle@cbe.org.za</u>